Carlin Michels Achievement Award

The Carlin Michels Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the physical therapy profession and/or the Association in one or more of the following areas: direct patient care, education, research, and service to the community or profession. 


 Carlin-Michels Award - Clinton 1

Susan Clinton, PT, DSc, MHS

CTI Humanitarian Award

This award is given for service that occurs outside the profession of physical therapy.

CTI Humanitarian Award - Wagner 1

Barbara Wagner, PT, DPT, MHA

Service Award

The Service Award is presented to a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who has significantly contributed to the betterment of physical therapy within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and has supported the mission of the Association.

Service Award - Rothman 1

Jeffrey S. Rothman, PT, DPT, OCS

Steven Kolumban Award

This award acknowledges a physical therapist assistant who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in clinical practice, community service, and personal commitment to physical therapy through professional contributions to the PPTA, the PPTA PTA Special Interest Group (SIG), or the APTA. 

Steven Kolumban Award - Slick

  Doug Slick, PTA, BA

Special Interest Group Awards

The awards for each SIG recognize a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant that is a member of APTA/PPTA and has made meaningful contributions to physical therapy at the individual, Chapter, or National level in the practice area supported by the SIG.  The contributions can be in any of the following areas: excellence in patient care or clinical practice; excellence in education or research; and/or community advocacy.

Pediatric Special Interest Group

PedSIG Award - Kobal
Kara L. Kobal, PT, DPT, ATC

Private Practice Special Interest Group

PPSIG Award - Hoffman
Steven A. Hoffman, PT, ATC

Neurology Special Interest Group

NeuroSIG Award - Schmidt 2
Mary E. Schmidt, PT, DPT, MS, FASIA

Geriatric Special Interest Group

GeriSIG Award Lowrey 1
Ann Lowrey, PTA

GeriSIG Award - Sidelinker 1
Jennifer Sidelinker, PT, DPT

Dr. Tom Stewart Award Recipient

Ally Patterson, SPT

Student Leadership Award Recipients

Sierra Dunlap, SPTA
Ryan Kalkbrenner, SPT